For Moms · Plan Your Week Series

Weekly Planning Series: Let’s Fill In That Planner!

weekly planning series: let's fill that planner - mom, series, planners, organization, mom, staying organized,

Welcome to the Weekly Planning Series! Are you new here? Or are you back for more weekly planning tips?

If you’re new and want to start at the beginning you can find the first post of the series here. You can also sign up to receive updates here, where you’ll get the direct links to each of the posts of this series sent directly to your inbox, plus all the tools and resources only available to subscribers!

If you’re back…I’m honored that you’ve decided to continue this journey with me! Before we get started …

  • Have you found a planner / calendar system that you like?
  • Has it been helpful to write everything down?
  • Do you think you’ll be able to continue doing so?

I’d love to get some feedback from you in order to improve this series as we go, I would love to know what is working for you and what isn’t. Have you tried something different than what I’ve suggested that is working better for you, your lifestyle and your family? I’d love to hear all about it!

Let’s get to planning…

So now that we’ve chosen a planner / calendar system that works for you and your family it’s time to fill it in! Last time I tasked you with writing everything down…now we are going to add a method to the madness. It’s time to plan and the very first thing you have to do is choose the day of the week that is going to work best for you to plan out your week. I personally plan on Thursdays, a lot of people choose Sundays, any day is a good day as long as it works for you! The second thing to do is to figure out how long it’s going to take to plan. For some of you it may take only a few minutes for some a little longer, once you’ve got a routine in place it will take you less time to plan and that’s the goal! Now go write your planning session in your planner right now so that’s scheduled!

Then go through your normal week and add all the things that must be done everyday…work schedule, homework time, dinner time (or a dinner prep reminder). You’ll want to add a 15 minute block called “weekly tasks” and another called “zone cleaning” to each day, we’ll talk more about these next time.

If you work from home you’ll want to block out times for different work tasks, or if you have kids at home activities for the kids. You can see my summer schedule here if you’re interested. I work from home and I prefer to work in batches, so here’s an overview of my week.

  • Mon – I do shop updates, update listings, add new listings. I try to draft at least one blog post, and make sure that any scheduled posts are ready to go with images and social media blasts. I visit all the facebook groups I belong to and post any sales, promotions or new listings on the marketplace type groups.
  • Tues – This is usually my knitting / crocheting day. Occasionally I will research new patterns, but usually I like to just dedicate some time to knitting.  If I’m behind on writing blog posts I will usually use this day to try to atleast get some ideas down on paper (and by paper I mean google docs ☺️)
  • Wed – Wednesdays is my social media day…I plan all my posts for the next week. I take photos, create my graphics, write all my copy and schedule all my posts for the following week.
  • Thur – Household planning day – This is my “day off” from work duties! I meal plan, write my grocery list, plan the activities for next week and set up my calendar.  I also check our household budget and pay bills!
  • Fri – I usually run errands on Fridays so I’m out of the house most of the morning, during Little Miss’s nap time I’ll usually jump on social media interact with any followers. I check stats and insights, review analytics.  If there is still time I’ll try to get some blogging done.

Now that we’ve created the list of family responsibilities and household chores it’s time to block out the times to get these things accomplished in.

Go fill in those calendars!

And don’t forget to schedule some “me” time! As moms we tend to spend so much time worrying about everyone else and getting everything accomplished that needs to be and making sure that everyone is where they are supposed to be, when they are supposed to be there, that we forget about mom! Even if it’s 15 minutes to close yourself in the bathroom with a book or a magazine do it! You deserve it!!!

I usually close my bedroom door, then lock myself in my bathroom so that anyone that needs me has to open two sets of doors before they get to me. Maybe even indulge a little and run the water so you can’t hear them screaming for you!!!

You need to take care of you in order to take care of them!

Knit Knot Thoughts

 

 

 

 

 

If you like what you see and would like to receive exclusive content, FREE printables, updates on upcoming posts, promotions and giveaways please subscribe to receive those directly to your inbox. I promise we don’t send a lot of emails…only when we’ve got truly awesome stuff lined up, and your information will never be sold to a third party! We hate that!!!

Sign up

Leave a Reply

